Monitoring Crop Field Soil Moisture (NDWI) Using Sentinel-2 Temporal Series

Monitoring the soil moisture level of crop fields is one of the most important thing to do for having an optimal crop yield. The finer the spatial and temporal resolution, the better it is to take prompt actions when necessary.

The Copernicus Sentinel-2 programme makes it possible to have a full coverage of any place in Europe at least every 5 days in 13 different multispectral bands. Based on this, we studied the Normalized Difference Water Index (NDWI) over the period from May to September 2016 in the agricultural region in the Northern part of Liege, Belgium. The NDWI is defined by the following formula:

NDWI = ( NIR – SWIR ) / ( NIR + SWIR )

Where NIR is for the Near infrared band and SWIR for Short-Wave Infrared band. For Sentinel-2 data, these bands are respectively 8A and 11, which spatial resolution is of 20m. Values range from -1, very bad moiture level, to 1 very high moisture level.

The reflectance in the NIR band is influenced by the leaf internal structure and the dry matter of the crop. The SWIR, on the other hand, reflects the changes in both the vegetation water content and the spongy mesophyll structure. Other things being equal, a darker area in the SWIR area of the spectrum highlights a higher water content. The combination of both bands removes the variations induced by the leaf internal structure and the leaf dry matter content. The accuracy in the water content measurement is thus enhanced.

Our time series study gave us the following result for the 5-month period.

NDWI evolution from May to September 2016

NDWI evolution from May to September 2016

The NDWI is globally very good for all the periods analysed. July seems however dry compared to the other dates. From the weather reports (meteobelgique.be), we know that the month of June was very rainy. July started very dry climate because of an anticyclone over the Atlantic and Brittany, giving Belgium wonderful summer days. This could explain why the crops are drier in this scene of July.

By looking more closely to the crop fields, we can spot some areas that need more attention than other parts. In the following comparison, we can see how “moist” the crops seen from space in True Colour are.

Crops seen from space compared to their Moisture Index

Crops seen from space compared to their Moisture Index

Among the crops highlighted in the blue circle, we see that there is no visible correlation between the greenness of the crops in True Colors and the Moisture level. In other words, darker crops in True Colour do not necessarily correspond to moister crops in NDWI.

The following example shows another area where it is not easy to see in True Colour which are the moistest fields.

Crops seen from space (True Colour) VS Moisture Level

Crops seen from space (True Colour) VS Moisture Level

The comparison shows how the moisture level varies inside a same crop field.

The following image shows the comparison between the NDVI on the left side, and the NDWI on the right side. Surprisingly on the image dating of the 7th of June, a very wet month, we see that the most photosynthetically active crop field (High NDVI) is one of the least moist. One of the hypothesis could be that active crops assimilate water faster than less active crops. In the latter case, water stays longer on the surface letting the field appear moister to the Sentinel-2 MSI instruments.

A Smaller NDWI corresponds to a higher NDVI (high photosynthetically activity)

A Smaller NDWI corresponds to a higher NDVI (high photosynthetically activity)

Sparsely planted fields appear less moist, as shown in the following image comparison. For an almost bare land, water does not stay long: it infiltrates quickly into the ground or evaporates faster than on a dense vegetated field.

Sparsely planted fields appear less moist

Sparsely planted fields appear less moist

For the beginning of the month of July, we see the opposite of what we have seen for the month of June. Here, a moister soil represents crop field more photosynthetically active. It is understandable that the crops needs less water during the first months of their growth. The more active they are, the more water they need.

Of course, these interpretations have to be confirmed by the experts (farmers, agronomy engineers, etc.) and unavoidable in-situ observations have to be carried out too.

A higher NDWI corresponds to a higher NDVI (high photosynthetically activity)

A higher NDWI corresponds to a higher NDVI (high photosynthetically activity)

In our Time Series analyses, we have a total of 9 “views” of the crops for over the 5-month period (May to September 2016). We have several other data that can come into play to make the temporal resolution higher. Landsat 7 and 8 scenes can be used as well as Sentinel-1 SAR data that can operate by day and night and by all kinds of weather.

What we have seen in this article is the Normalized Difference Water Index (NDWI) that brings additional information about the crops, and more precisely their hydric state. Having all the band combinations and indexes all together (True Colour, False Colour, NDVI, NDWI), and analysing them, makes it possible to fine-grain the analyses of the crops.


Quadratic studies problems encountered in the agro-industrial sector and develops for its partners real-time monitoring tools and decision support tools, intended to help better manage their logistics. Beside searching ways to reduce costs, the company also helps to monitor crop fields using the products of the ESA and European Union’s Copernicus (Sentinel) programme. Quadratic is member of the Copernicus World Alliance, which aims the development of synergies between organizations active in the Copernicus programme.

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •

Le suivi de l’état hydrique (NDWI) des cultures par les Séries Temporelles Sentinel-2

Un suivi précis et régulier de l’état hydrique des cultures est une priorité pour avoir des rendements optimaux. Au plus les résolutions spatiales et temporelles sont précises, au mieux c’est pour prendre de bonnes décisions aux bons moments.

Le programme européen Copernicus et ses satellites Sentinel-2 rendent possible l’obtention d’une couverture totale de tout point en Europe, tous les 5 jours, dans les 13 différentes bandes spectrales. C’est sur cette base que nous étudions la teneur en eau par différence normalisée (NDWI) pour la période couvrant mai à septembre 2016 dans la région agricole au nord de Liège, en Belgique. Le NDWI est défini par la formule suivante

NDWI = ( NIR – SWIR ) / ( NIR + SWIR )

Où NIR est la bande proche infrarouge et SWIR la bande infrarouge à courte longueur d‘onde. Pour les données Sentinel-2, ces bandes sont respectivement la 8A et la 11, toutes deux de 20 m de résolution. L’indice varie de -1, sécheresse sévère, à 1, bonne humidité.

La réflectance dans la bande NIR est influencée par la structure interne des feuilles et la matière sèche de la plante. Le SWIR, lui, reflète les changements de la teneur en eau et la structure spongieuse de la mésophylle. Toutes choses égales par ailleurs, une valeur plus faible dans la bande SWIR traduit une plus grande teneur en eau. La combinaison des deux bandes NIR et SWIR soustrait les variations dues par la structure interne de la plante et la matière sèche. La précision dans la détermination de la teneur en eau n’en est qu’améliorée.

La Série Temporelle sur les 5 mois de l’étude nous donne les résultats suivants.

L’évolution de NDWI de mai à septembre 2016

L’évolution de NDWI de mai à septembre 2016

Le NDWI reste globalement dans des valeurs acceptables pour toutes les périodes analysées. Juillet semble toutefois plus sec par rapport aux autres dates. Comment cela se fait-il ? Des rapports météos (meteobelgique.be), nous savons que le mois de juin était exceptionnellement trop humide. Le mois de juillet a commencé, quant à lui, de manière sèche à cause de l’anticyclone persistant au-dessus de l’Atlantique et la Bretagne. Cette situation a donné lieu à de jolies journées d’été en Belgique. Voici une des hypothèses pour expliquer le déficit hydrique et des valeurs moins élevées pour le NDWI.

En regardant de plus près, nous pouvons voir, au sein même des cultures, les endroits qui nécessitent plus d’attention. Dans la figure suivante, nous pouvons voir quels champs (en Vraies Couleurs) sont les mieux hydratés.

Cultures vues de l’espace, comparées au NDWI

Cultures vues de l’espace, comparées au NDWI

Parmi les champs mis en évidence dans le cercle bleu, nous pouvons voir qu’il n’y a pas de corrélation « visuelle » entre la verdure des cultures et l’état hydrique. En d’autres mots, un champ apparaissant plus foncé ne correspond pas forcément à un champ mieux hydraté.

La figure suivante nous donne un autre exemple où le document en Vraies Couleurs ne peut nous donner d’information cohérente sur l’état hydrique des cultures.

Cultures vues de l’espace (en Vraies Couleurs) VS l’état hydrique

Cultures vues de l’espace (en Vraies Couleurs) VS l’état hydrique

La figure nous montre aussi comment l’état hydrique varie au sein d’une même parcelle.

Le document suivant compare le NDVI, à gauche, avec le NDWI à droite. D’une manière surprenante sur la scène du 7 juin, un mois très humide, nous voyons que les champs les plus actifs photosynthétiquement (haut NDVI) correspondent aux champs les moins humides. Une hypothèse pourrait être la suivante : Des cultures plus actives assimilent l’eau plus rapidement que les cultures moins actives. Dans ce dernier cas, l’eau resterait plus longtemps sur la surface, ce qui en expliquerait une signature spectrale plus forte et donc un NDWI plus élevé.

Une valeur moins élevée du NDWI correspond à un NDVI plus élevé (meilleure activité photosynthétique)

Une valeur moins élevée du NDWI correspond à un NDVI plus élevé (meilleure activité photosynthétique)

Les cultures moins denses apparaissent moins humides, comme le montre la comparaison. Pour un sol quasi nu, l’eau reste moins longtemps en surface : soit elle s’infiltre rapidement dans le sol, soit elle s’évapore.

Les champs moins denses paraissent moins humides

Les champs moins denses paraissent moins humides

Pour le début du mois de juillet, nous observons le contraire de ce que nous avons constaté pour le mois de juin, à savoir que les cultures plus humides sont photosynthétiquement plus actives. Il se pourrait que les champs nécessitent moins d’eau lors de leurs premiers mois de croissance. Plus les champs sont actifs, plus ils nécessitent de l’eau.

Ces hypothèses et interprétations sont à confirmer par des cultivateurs et experts agronomes et des observations in situ restent incontournables.

Un plus grand NDWI correspond à un plus grand NDVI (plus d’activité photosynthétique)

Un plus grand NDWI correspond à un plus grand NDVI (plus d’activité photosynthétique)

Nous avons 9 scènes dans notre Série Temporelle pour la période d’étude de 5 mois (mai à septembre 2016). Cette précision temporelle peut toutefois être améliorée en enrichissant la série avec des données externes telles que les scènes Landsat 7 et 8, et surtout les données SAR Sentinel-1. Les instruments RADAR sont actifs de jours comme de nuit, peu importe les conditions météorologiques.

Ce que nous pouvons retenir de cet article est que le NDWI apporte une information capitale sur l’état hydrique des cultures. En analysant les champs dans des combinaisons de bandes et dans des indices différents (Vraies Couleurs, Fausses Couleurs, NDVI, NDWI), nous avons à notre disposition des méthodes et des outils pour l’aide à la décision – la Mission Quadratic.


Quadratic se penche sur les problématiques rencontrées dans le secteur de l’agro-industrie et développe, pour ses clients et partenaires, des outils de suivi en temps réel, ainsi qu’un Outil d’Aide à la Décision (OAD), pour mieux gérer les opérations liées à la logistique sur ce secteur. A côté de la recherche de minimisation des coûts, Quadratic aide les agriculteurs à suivre l’évolution de leurs parcelles agricoles en utilisant les produits issus du programme satellitaire Copernicus (Sentinel) initié par l’ESA et l’Union Européenne. La société est, d’ailleurs, membre de la Copernicus World Alliance (CWA) qui a pour mission le développement de synergies entre les organisations utilisant les services Copernicus.

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •