Monitoring the crop evolution using different true color satellite imageries

Agriculture is facing many challenges known for centuries. The climate is changing, the weather is capricious, water can become scarce, soils undergo increasing pressures, prices of the fertilizers can climb, culture prices can drop dramatically. Observing their field regularly and taking the right decisions at the right moments are essential for farmers to keep a maximum productivity.

Modern technologies make it now possible to monitor our crop fields more accurately. The Copernicus Sentinel satellite programme produces a satellite view of every point in the Europe every 5 days with a 10 meter resolution. It is hence possible to observe crops from space and to spot anomalies across larger fields more easily.

In this practical example here, we followed the last few months of the crops near Liege (Belgium) between the 01/05/2016 and the 25/09/2016. We see the fields becoming progressively greener throughout the season. The first harvests do occur between the 06/07 and the 07/10. In Belgium, dry hay and bere are opening the ball for the harvest season in June and the beginning of July. On the 16/08 scene, lots of fields became bare. The biggest harvest month is indeed in July, here with the harvest of rapeseed, wheat, common wheat, linen, peas, sugar beets. The month of September is characteristic of the corn harvests. The green fields after the end of september can be maize, which are harvested in Octobre.

Crop evolution near Liege (Belgium) in 2016

Crop evolution near Liege (Belgium) in 2016

This true color observation example shows just a fraction of what is possible to get as information with Sentinel-2 data. The crops can be observed from space and their types can be estimated using agricultural harvest calendars. In true color tones, it is difficult to differentiate between the various green tones. Other indicators are needed here, and this is a topic for another blog article.


Quadratic is currently studying problems encountered in the agro-industrial sector and develops for its partners real-time monitoring tools and decision support tools, intended to help them manage their logistics. Beside searching ways to reduce costs, the company also helps to monitor crop fields using the products of the ESA and European Union’s Copernicus (Sentinel) programme. Quadratic is member of the Copernicus World Alliance, which aims the development of synergies between organizations active in the Copernicus programme.

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •

Le suivi de l’évolution des cultures en utilisant les imageries satellitaires

L’agriculture doit faire face à des défis connus depuis des millénaires. Le climat évolue, la météo est capricieuse, l’eau peut venir à manquer, les sols subissent des pressions constantes, les prix des engrais peuvent exploser, les prix par unité de récolte dégringoler. L’observation régulière des cultures et la prise des bonnes décisions aux bons moments sont primordiales pour assurer un maximum de productivité.

Les technologies modernes permettent de suivre les cultures avec plus de précision, tant temporelle que géométrique. Les satellites Sentinel du programme Copernicus permettent la prise de vue de chaque endroit en Europe tous les 5 jours au plus avec une résolution de 10 mètres. Il est donc possible de suivre les cultures et de déceler les anomalies plus rapidement sur de plus grandes étendues.

Dans le cas pratique ci-dessous, nous avons suivi des cultures près de Liège (Belgique) pendant la période allant du 01/05/2016 au 25/09/2016. Nous voyons les champs devenir progressivement plus verts tout au long de la saison. Les premières moissons ont lieu pendant le mois de juin. En Belgique, ce sont le foin et l’escourgeon qui ouvrent le bal de la saison des récoltes. La scène en date du 16/08 nous montre la plupart des champs mis à nus. La plupart des récoltes ont lieu durant le mois de juillet, comme pour le colza, le blé, le lin, le froment, les pois, betteraves. Le mois de septembre est caractéristique de la récolte de l’orge d’hiver. Dans le cas des champs verts au-delà du mois de septembre, il peut s’agir de maïs, dont la récolte a lieu en octobre.

Crop evolution near Liege (Belgium) in 2016

Crop evolution near Liege (Belgium) in 2016

Ces observations en vraies couleurs ne montrent qu’une infime partie de ce qu’il est possible de retirer de scènes Sentinel-2. Les cultures peuvent être observées de l’espace et le type de culture peut être estimé sur base des calendriers des semences et des récoltes. Dans les tons « vraies couleurs », il est cependant difficile de différencier les cultures sur base des nuances de vert. D’autres indicateurs sont nécessaires ici, et ça fera partie d’un nouvel article de blog.


Quadratic se penche actuellement sur les problématiques rencontrées dans le secteur de l’agro-industrie et développe, pour ses clients et partenaires, des outils de monitoring en temps réel ainsi qu’un Outil d’Aide à la Décision (OAD) pour mieux gérer les opérations liées à la logistique sur ce secteur. A côté de la recherche de minimisation des coûts, Quadratic aide les agriculteurs à suivre l’évolution de leurs cultures en utilisant les produits issus du programme satellitaire Copernicus (Sentinel) initié par l’ESA et l’Union Européenne. La société est, d’ailleurs, membre de la Copernicus World Alliance (CWA) qui a pour mission le développement de synergies entre les organisations utilisant les services Copernicus.

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •