Potentials of the Copernicus Sentinel Programme for the Agro-Industry

Quadratic is currently studying problems encountered in the agro-industrial sector and develops for its partners real-time monitoring tools and decision support tools, intended to help them manage their logistics. Quadratic, conscious of the whole agroindustry, thinks more upstream of this project, at the very source of the food value chain: the crop fields and their efficiency.

Crops (Source: Progressive Media Group)

Crops (Source: Progressive Media Group)

Productivity of crop fields varies from year to year, due to the central and capricious role of meteorological factors. While it is difficult to juggle with the aspect of weather, one could however ask “How can I make my farm more productive”? Asking this question comes with two sub questions: “How can I increase the performances of my crop fields?”, and, “How can I be more cost-efficient?”

One of the key feature in helping farmers to make crops more productive is, first, to know their fields by monitoring them. Knowing the exact moment to plant grains, to use fertilizers, and, most importantly, on which part of the field to do it, are the objectives of precision farming, also called smart farming. Regular and precise crop field observations require a lot of time most farmers cannot spend.

What if an external observation tool, spatially precise, temporally very regular and above all, FREE, could be considered? This is exactly where the ESA and European Union’s Copernicus programme comes into play! With the already operational Sentinel 1, 2 and 3 satellites, it is now possible to observe every point on the European continent, with a resolution of 10 m, in the visible band, with a revisit time of 5 days at the Equator (3 days at our latitudes)! Data are freely available and a tremendous amount of information can be harvested out of every single pixel. Exploiting temporal successive images makes it possible to monitor crop growth by defining spectral signatures. For the full Copernicus programme, please see here: http://www.copernicus.eu/

Sentinel-2 satellite (Source: Wikimedia)

Sentinel-2 satellite (Source: Wikimedia)

 

Sentinel-1’s payload is a Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) operating in the radar’s C-Band (microwave). It is hence not affected by meteorological conditions and signals cross all the cloud layers. Radar wavelengths can be used by day and night.

Sentinel-2 has a multispectral instrument operating in 13 different bands ranging from the visible to the near and short wave infrared spectrum. The visible bands are subject to cloud cover, making the theoretical revisit time of 5 days often longer. Most of the information useful for crop field monitoring can be gathered from Sentinel-2 images.

 

 

Quadratic is actively working on getting most out of temporal Sentinel-1 and Sentinel-2 images, in order to provide constant growth and health status of crop fields. The resolution of the Sentinel images gives information which parts of the field require more attention than other parts. In situ observations could be performed to fine grain even more the model used to make the direct link between the spectral signature of fields and the crop type, evolution stage, hydric regime, etc. Why not keeping up to date a diary for every single parcel to retrieve all the history of every single parcel?

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •

Potentiel du programme européen Copernicus pour le secteur de l’agro-industrie

Quadratic se penche actuellement sur les problématiques rencontrées dans le secteur de l’agro-industrie et développe, pour ses clients et partenaires, des outils de monitoring en temps réel ainsi qu’un Outil d’Aide à la Décision (OAD) pour mieux gérer les opérations liées à la logistique sur ce secteur. Soucieux de la bonne gestion de l’entièreté de la chaîne agro-industrielle, nous nous intéressons aussi de près aux opérations à la source : les cultures agricoles et leurs rendements.

Crops (Source: Progressive Media Group)

Crops (Source: Progressive Media Group)

Le rendement des cultures varie d’année en année et la capricieuse météo y joue un rôle prépondérant. Alors qu’il est difficile d’influencer la météo, une question tout à fait légitime peut se poser : « Comment puis-je rendre mon exploitation plus performante ? ». Poser cette question revient en fait à poser deux questions simultanées : « Comment puis-je augmenter les rendements de mes parcelles ? », et, « Comment puis-je réduire mes coûts de production ? ».

Pour savoir comment augmenter les rendements d’une parcelle agricole, il faut d’abord la connaitre, en l’observant. Connaître le moment précis où il faut planter les semences, utiliser des fertilisants et, le plus important, savoir à quels endroits il faut le faire. Ce sont là des objectifs de l’agriculture de précision. L’observation minutieuse et régulière des champs nécessite beaucoup de temps et d’argent, et la plupart des fermiers ne peuvent se le permettre…

Et s’il existait un outil externe d’observation, spatialement précis, temporel régulier et, surtout, gratuit, qui pourrait être mis à disposition des agriculteurs ? C’est ici qu’intervient le programme Copernicus initié conjointement par l’ESA (Agence Spatiale Européenne) et l’UE (Union Européenne) ! Avec les satellites Sentinel 1, 2 et 3 qui sont déjà opérationnels, il est maintenant possible d’avoir théoriquement des observations tous les 5 jours (3 sous nos latitudes) avec une résolution de 10 m pour les bandes visibles. Les imageries sont mises à disposition gratuitement et une tonne d’information peut être retirée de chacun des pixels. L’exploitation de scènes temporelles successives permet de suivre la croissance et l’évolution de l’état de santé des cultures, en se basant sur les signatures spectrales. Pour plus d’information sur le programme Copernicus, http://www.copernicus.eu/

Sentinel-2 satellite (Source: Wikimedia)

Sentinel-2 satellite (Source: Wikimedia)

L’instrument embarqué à bord des Sentinel-1 est de type C-SAR (Synthetic Aperture Radar), c’est-à-dire radar à synthèse d’ouverture dans la bande C (micro-ondes). Les ondes ne sont pas affectées par les conditions météorologiques – et pénètrent donc les couches nuageuses – et permettent la prise de vue de jour comme de nuit.

Sentinel-2 embarque un instrument multispectral opérant dans 13 bandes distinctes, s’étendant des bandes visibles au moyen-infrarouge. Les bandes visibles sont sujettes aux conditions météorologiques, ce qui veut dire qu’elles sont affectées par les nuages. Il n’est donc peu probable d’avoir, en pratique, des scènes multispectrales tous les 5 jours. La plupart des informations nécessaires au monitoring des cultures se trouvent dans les bandes Sentinel-2.

 

Quadratic travaille activement sur l’exploitation des données Sentinel-1 et 2 à la recherche de la manière la plus efficace de suivre la croissance et l’évolution de l’état de santé général des cultures. La résolution spatiale des scènes donne, de plus, une précieuse information sur les endroits des champs qui requièrent plus d’attention. Des observations in situ pourraient venir enrichir nos modèles qui cherchent les liens directs entre signature spectrale d’une part, et caractéristiques du champ d’autre part. Pourquoi ne pas se pencher la création d’un journal intime pour chaque parcelle individuelle, de lui donner vie et de suivre son évolution pour mieux prédire son avenir ?

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •