Prototyping Of An IT Solution To The Smart Farming Sector

As part of a partnership with SCAM (Société Coopérative Agricole de la Meuse) and its digital innovation program “Field-up!”, Quadratic just realized an IT platform prototype allowing to optimize and streamline the spraying of phytosanitary products on agricultural parcels with “Non-Treatment Areas”. Non-Treatment Areas are no-spraying zones along rivers or specific landscape elements, imposed by Belgian laws.

Field-up agrimap-editor-proto

The optimization platform prototype, based on geoprocessing, generates recommendation maps intended to be exported and consumed by on-board equipment of agricultural machinery. On the technical side, Quadratic has used open-source components to develop the platform: GeoServer, OpenLayers, PostGIS, …

SCAM (200 workers) is present in the Walloon agricultural sector since 1956. Founded by farmers and for farmers, it is today managed 100% by them. Using a network of 47 storehouses in the Walloon region, it is the economic extension of over 4,000 farms.

Agriculture

This partnership with SCAM allows Quadratic to position itself on Smart Farming and agri-based products sectors. The project is furthermore followed by InnovaTech, the well-known non-profit organization located on the Aéropole Science Park at Gosselies, which provide support on innovative projects to Walloon startups.

SCAM and Quadratic already plan to extend their collaboration on other optimization problems in the agricultural context…

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •

Prototypage d’une solution IT pour le secteur de l’agriculture de précision

Dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec la SCAM (Société Coopérative Agricole de la Meuse) et de son programme d’innovation numérique « Field-up! », Quadratic vient de réaliser un prototype de plateforme informatique permettant d’optimiser et de rationaliser la pulvérisation de produits phytosanitaires sur des parcelles agricoles présentant des ZNT, à savoir des « Zones de Non Traitement ». Les ZNT sont des zones d’interdiction de pulvérisation le long de cours d’eau ou d’éléments spécifiques du paysage, imposées par la législation belge.

Field-up agrimap-editor-proto

Le prototype de plateforme d’optimisation permet de générer, grâce à du géotraitement (geoprocessing), des cartes de préconisation qui se veulent exportables et utilisables sur le matériel embarqué des engins agricoles. Côté technique, Quadratic s’est basé sur des composants Open-Source pour élaborer la plateforme : GeoServer, OpenLayers, PostGIS, …

La SCAM (200 travailleurs) est présente dans le secteur agricole wallon depuis 1956. Fondée par des agriculteurs et pour des agriculteurs, elle est à ce jour gérée à 100% par ces derniers. A l’aide d’un réseau de 47 dépôts répartis sur le territoire wallon, elle est le prolongement économique de plus de 4.000 exploitations agricoles.

Agriculture

Ce partenariat avec la SCAM permet à Quadratic de se positionner sur le segment des outils et solutions IT à destination des secteurs de l’agriculture de précision et de l’agro-industrie. Le projet est en outre suivi par InnovaTech, la bien connue ASBL située sur l’Aéropole de Gosselies qui propose aux entreprises wallonnes du coaching en innovation.

La SCAM et Quadratic envisagent d’ores et déjà d’étendre leur collaboration sur d’autres problématiques d’optimisation dans le contexte agricole…

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •